Mesolongi History

Mesolongi History

Things to do - general

Mesolongi was built in the 13th century by Dalmatian pirates on 3 small islands that merged with the passing of time. The name seems to derive from the Dalmatian words Messo – Langi, which mean village next to a lake.
Until 1700, Mesolongi was under Venetian domination. Its inhabitants were mostly fishermen. They lived in cabins which were made of a kind of waterproof straw and reed and stood on stilts above sea water so that they did not get in contact with it.
After the Renaissance, Mesolongi was a village of fishermen. Several inhabitants began, except of fishing, to develop in the construction of ships in the local shipyards. The fleet of Mesolongi numbered 50 big ships with commercial activities even abroad.
During the Orlof Revolt in 1770 the fleet of Mesolongi was defeated and the town passed to the Ottomans. Mesolongi revolted on May 20, 1821 and was a major stronghold of the Greek rebels in the Greek War of Independence, being the seat of the Senate of Western Continental Greece. Its inhabitants successfully resisted a siege by Ottoman forces in 1822. The second siege started on April 15, 1825 by Reşid Mehmed Pasha.
After a year of relentless enemy attacks and facing starvation, the people of Mesolongi decided to leave the beleaguered city in the “Exodus of its Guards” (The Sortie) on the night of April 10, 1826. At the time, there were 10,500 people in Mesolongi, 3,500 of who were armed. Very few people survived the Ottoman pincer movement after the betrayal of their plan.
Due to the heroic stance of the population and the subsequent massacre of its inhabitants by the Turkish-Egyptian forces, the city of Mesolongi received the honorary title of Hiera Polis (the Sacred City), unique among other Greek cities.
Perhaps Mesolongi fell at the time of the Exodus, but his history stands high and illuminates hearts of free men throughout the ages.
In the years following its liberation the town of Mesolongi produced five famous Prime Ministers (Spyridon and Charilaos Trikoupis etc), many historical personages, poets, artists, scientists, architects and men of letters. The famous British poet and philhellene Lord Byron, who supported the Greek struggle for independence, died in Mesolongi in 1824. He is commemorated by a cenotaph containing his heart and a statue located in the town.

Today Mesolongi is developed as a tourist attraction, being a town symbolizing freedom and commemorating it through the many international memorials in the Garden of Heroes. It is a universal symbol of the struggle of nations for dignity and freedom and a beautiful site offering great interest and rich opportunities for every visitor.

Country Greece

Unfortunately there are no hotels at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no cruise offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.

Месологги-история

Месологги-история

Things to do - general

Месологги был построен в 13-ом веке далматинскими пиратами на 3-х маленьких островах, которые объединились с течением времени. Название города происходит от далматинских слов “мессо-ланги”, которые означают “деревня рядом с озером”.
До 1700 г. Месологги был под венецианским господством. Его жители занимались в основном рыболовством и жили в хижинах, сделанных из водонепроницаемой соломы и тростника,которые крепились на сваях над водой .
После эпохи Возрождения Месологги продолжал быть городом рыбаков, однако некоторые жители начали, кроме рыболовства, заниматься строительством судов в местных верфях. Торговый флот Месологги насчитывал 50 больших кораблей, занимающихся коммерческой деятельностью даже за рубежом.
Во время Орловского восстания в 1770 году флот Месологги был разбит и город оказался под игом Османской империи. Месологги восстал 20 мая 1821 и был главным оплотом повстанцев в греческой войне за независимость, поскольку в нем располагался Сенат западной континентальной Греции. Жители города успешно сопративлялись осаде Османских сил в 1822 году. Вторая осада началась 15 апреля 1825 г.,которую возглавил Ресид Мехмед-паша.
После года безжалостных атак противника и под угрозой голода, жители Месологги решили покинуть осажденный город , “выход через осаду» ,в ночь 10-го апреля 1826 года. В то время в городе находилось 10500 человек, 3500 из которых были вооружены. Очень немногим удалось выжить после изменения первоначального плана(защита города) и решения покинуть Месологги.
Благодаря героической позиции населения, вступившего в смертельную схватку с турецко-египетскими войсками, город Месологги получил почетное звание Иера Полис (Священный город), чем выделяется среди других греческих городов.
Месологги пал во время “выхода”, но его трагическая история служит примером героизма ради свободы на протяжении веков.
В первые годы после освобождения пять премьер-министров (Спиридон и Харилаос Трикупис и.др.), многие исторические персонажи, поэты, артисты, ученые, архитекторы и другие люди ,представляющие греческую интеллегенцию, были выходцами из Месологги. Известный английский поэт и филэллин лорд Байрон принял участие в Греческой революции и скончался в Месологги в 1824- ом году. По его завещанию ,сердце поэта покоится в городе под памятником в Саду Героев.

Сегодня Месологги представляет большой интерес для туристов, будучи городом, символизирующим свободу, почитающим память героев и имеющим много интернациональных памятников в Саду Героев. Месологги-универсальный символ борьбы народов за достоинство и свободу ,представляет большой исторический интерес, а также предоставляет широкую гамму услуг и возможностей для каждого посетителя.

Country Greece

Unfortunately there are no hotels at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no cruise offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.