Christmas -New Year΄s Eve - Epiphany in Greece

Christmas -New Year΄s Eve - Epiphany in Greece

Things to do - general

Christmas in Greece

In Greece when we talk about “holidays” we are referring to the holiday period of ChristmasNew Year and Epiphany, which lasts 12 days. There are many customs associated with the “twelve day of Christmas”, some very old and others relatively recent. Historically, in 354 A.D. it was arranged for the birth of Christ to be celebrated on December 25, the same day that they celebrated the birth of the ancient god Mithra, known as the “invincible sun god” and god of all solar deities in idolatry. With the changes, and the turning of people towards other gods, the popularity of the “invincible sun god” dropped and Christ took his place.

Christmas Traditions

Christmas-boat

Christmas-boat

Christmas in Greece, or “the holidays”, are not what they were 40 years ago. Over the years a universal culture developing is noticed and western European customs spread all over the world.

Today Christmas in Greece appears more impressive, glossier and more glamorous. Store windows are decorated almost a month in advance, and in the cities the streets and town squares are lit with colourful lights. Also, many people now travel either abroad or around Greece to places which offer winter holidays.

On Christmas Day, all family members gather at the festively set dinner table.

In olden times, Christmas was simpler, warmer, perhaps much closer to the true spirit of the holiday. Many of the traditions of eons ago continue to exist unchanged, so Christmas in Greece maintains its originality and many of the customs.

Fasting at Christmas

In Greece, fasting period starts 40 days before Christmas. While the fasting was predominately for religious reasons, many considered the period to be a healthful practice as well. The faithful don’t eat meat, dairy and eggs.

Christmas preparations

Sugar cookies (kourabiedes)

Sugar cookies (kourabiedes)

As Christmas drew near, preparations began so all would be ready for the big holiday. Houses would be cleaned with extra care, and a few days before Christmas housewives would prepare the Christmas cookies, which would be eaten on Christmas Day when the fasting ended. In the past the honey cookies (melomakarona) were made exclusively for Christmas, while sugar cookies (kourabiedes), were prepared for the New Year. Today, though, that distinction is not observed and both melomakarona and kourabiedes are prepared and consumed during the Christmas and New Year holidays period.

Greek Christmas carols (Kalanda)

The singing of Christmas carols is a custom which is preserved in its entirety to this day. The Children still go from house to house singing the carols, while accompanied by the sounds of the triangle, even guitars, accordions, lyres or harmonicas. The homeowners offer children holiday sweets and give them some money.

Christmas tree

christmas-treeToday almost everyone buys and decorates a Christmas tree in Greece, whether it is real or artificial. Usually they are decorated a few days before Christmas and remain in homes until Epiphany.

The Christmas tree, assumed to be foreign, may even have some Greek roots. Use of decorated greenery and branches around New Year is recorded as far back as in Greek antiquity. In older times, in Greece, instead of Christmas trees decorated small boatsand this tradition has continued to the present day.

New Year’s Day in Greece (Protoxronia)

After Christmas, the children impatiently await the New Year (Protohronia) because that’s when St. Basil (Agios Vasilis) delivers their gifts.

On New Year’s Eve in Greece it is customary for most people to gather in the town’s center, or plaza, for last minute shopping or just a pleasant stroll.

Fireworks on New Year’s Eve

Fireworks on New Year’s Eve

Cardplaying on New Year’s Day

As New Year is considered lucky in Greece, it is the custom to participate in games of chance on the first day. In addition to the state lottery which raffles 10 million euros on New Year’s Day, people play cards and roll dice in coffeehouses, clubhouses and homes throughout the country.

The New Year pie (Vasilopita) with coin

The cutting of the vasilopita is one of the few primordial customs still surviving. The pie is always beked with a coin. The one who receives the piece with the coin will be lucky in the New Year!new-year

The New Year pie (Vasilopita)

The New Year pie (Vasilopita)

On New Year’s Eve everyone gathers around waiting for the vasilopita to be cut as the new year rolls in. When the time comes the father, in a solemn ceremony, starts to cut the cake. The first piece is for Christ, the second for the house, and then pieces for everyone present.

Entertainment on New Year’s Eve

During the entire holiday period, attendance in bars and clubs is much higher as people go out at night to celebrate. The fun and excitement continues until sunrise.

Fireworks on New Year’s Eve

In recent years elaborate firework displays have been established in the central squares of the cities throughout Greece. They are organized responsibly by the various municipalities, who also put up festive decorations and sponsor musical events for the Eve’s celebrations.

First foot or first step (Pothariko)

Many people pay particular mind to the good/bad omen regarding who will first enter their home in the New Year (pothariko). On New Year’s Eve a friend or relative, who is considered a good-natured, lucky person, comes first into their house the following day in order to bring good luck to the house. Often, a child is preferred for this special practice because children are considered innocent, good souls.

Epiphany in Greece

Τhe celebration of Epiphany or Theophania or Fota is celebrated on January the sixth.

epiphanyThe first sanctification of the Epiphany (The Enlightenment) takes place in church on the eve of the holiday. Afterwards, the priest goes from house to house holding a cross and a basil branch. As he walks through each house, he uses the basil to sprinkle (bless) all the areas of the home. This is the special occasion when many daring young Greek men brave the chilly waters to dive for a cross after it has been blessed by a priest and thrown into the water. For his gallantry, the first man who recovers the cross is said to have good luck throughout the coming year. In the past, the “winner” walked through each house with the cross collecting money for himself or for charity. In some parts of Greece, this custom remains to our day.

Unfortunately there are no hotels at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no cruise offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.

Рождество - Новый год - Богоявление в Греции

Рождество - Новый год - Богоявление в Греции

Things to do - general

Рождество в Греции

В Греции, когда мы говорим о “праздниках”, мы подразумеваем праздничный период  отРождества до Крещения, который длится 12 дней. Существует множество обычаев, связанных с “двенадцатью  днями Рождества”, некоторые  из которых  имеют древние корни, другие  “пришли”  сравнительно недавно. Исторически, в 354 г.н.э. праздник  был организован в связи с рождением Христа, который отмечается, по-новому стилю, 25 декабря-в тот же день, что древние греки праздновали рождение бога Митры, известного, как “непобедимый  бог  солнца”, и бог всех солнечных божеств в идолопоклонстве. С изменением  отношения людей  к другим богам, популярность “непобедимого бога солнца” упала  и Христос занял его место.

Рождественские традиции

Christmas-boat

Christmas-boat

Рождество в Греции, или “праздники”, уже не те, что были 40 лет назад. За эти годы произошло развитие общечеловеческой культуры и западноевропейские обычаи распространились больше по миру.

Сегодня Рождество в Греции выглядит более впечатляющим, глянцевым и более гламурным. Витрины магазинов  украшают почти на месяц вперед, а на улицах и площадях зажигаются разноцветные огоньки. Кроме того, многие люди, в период рожденствнеских праздников, предпочитают путешествовать как за границу, так и внутри страны.

На Рождество, все члены семьи, по традиции, собираются к празднично украшенному столу.

В старину, Рождество было проще, теплее, может быть, гораздо ближе к истинному духу праздника. Многие из вековых традиций продолжают существовать  и в наше время без изменений, поэтому Рождество в Греции сохраняет свою самобытность и многие обычаи.
Рождественский пост

В Греции, период поста начинается за 40 дней до Рождества. Раньше  верующие держали  пост по религиозным соображениям, в наше время многие используют этот период  для оздоровления организма. Верующие не едят  мясо-молочные продукты и яйца.
Подготовка к Рождеству

Sugar cookies (kourabiedes)

Sugar cookies (kourabiedes)

Еще до прихода Рождества веруюшие начинают подготовку к большому празднику: дома тщательно убираются и украшаются, а за несколько дней до Рождества домохозяйки пекут рождественские печенья, которые будут съедены  в день Рождества, по окончании поста. В прошлом, медовое печенье (меломакарона)было  исключительно Рождественским лакомством, в то время, как сахарное печенье (курабье), пекли  к Новому году. Сегодня, однако, это различие не сохранилось, и оба лакомства готовятся и потребляются  во все время рождественских и новогодних праздников.
Греческие колядки (Каланда)

christmas-treeПение колядок является обычаем, который сохранился в полном объеме и по сей день. Дети, по-прежнему, ходят от дома к дому, где, по-традиции, под звон треугольника, или даже под звуки  гитары, аккордеона, лиры или гармоники поют колядки.За исполнение колядок детей угощают сладостями, дают мелкую монету и приглашают прийти на следующий год.
Рождественская елка

Сегодня, в Рождественские праздники, почти  в каждом доме стоит украшенная елка, настоящая или искусственная. Как правило, елку наряжают за несколько дней до Рождества и оставляют  в домах до Крещения.

Украшение елки, считающееся  иностранной традицией, возможно, имеет греческие корни. Использование зелени и веток в качестве  украшения  к празднованию Нового года существовало еще в античной Греции.

В старые времена, в Греции, вместо елок  украшали  лодки и корабли-эта традиция сохранилась  и до наших дней.

Cм. Рождество Христово на Святой Горе Афон — Записки паломника

Новый год в Греции (Протохронья)

После Рождества, дети с нетерпением ждут Нового года (Протохронья),когдаСвятой Василий (прототип Деда Мороза в России ) приносит подарки.

Fireworks on New Year’s Eve

Fireworks on New Year’s Eve

В канун Нового года в Греции большинство людей собираются в центрах городов, на  площадях, делают последние покупки  в магазинах  или просто прогуливаются.
Традиционная игра в карты в канун Нового года.

new-yearГреки принимают участие в азартных играх в Новогоднюю ночь, считая, что это приносит удачу на весь год. В дополнение к государственной лотерее, которая разыгрывает 10 миллионов евро на Новый год, люди играют в карты и кости в кафе, клубах и домах по всей стране..

Новогодний пирог(Василопита) с монеткой.

Церемония разрезания василопиты –один из обычаев, доживших до наших дней. Пирог обязательно запекается с монеткой. Тот, кто получит кусочек с монетой, будет счастлив весь год! Раньше, в канун каждого Нового года, вся семья собиралась к праздничному столу, где, как правило, глава семейства, в торжественной обстановке, начинал разрезать пирог. Первая часть предназначалась Христу, вторая-для дома, а затем -для всех присутствующих.
Вечерние развлечения на Новый год

The New Year pie (Vasilopita)

The New Year pie (Vasilopita)

В течение всего периода Рождественских праздников, посещаемость ночных развлекательных заведений в Новогоднюю ночь гораздо выше, чем во все другие дни…Празднование встречи Нового года продолжается до восхода солнца.
Фейерверк в Новогоднюю  ночь.

В последние годы  фейерверки устанавливаются  на центральных площадях городов по всей Греции. Они организованы различными  муниципалитетами, которые, также, отвечают за праздничное убранство городов и спонсируют музыкальные мероприятия  на кануне встречи Нового года.

Подарико-традиционная примета.

Утром 1 января, друг или родственник, которого считают удачливым, первым входит в дом, с правой ноги,принося тем самым счастье в дом. Часто первыми в дом входят дети,т.к. они невинны и в их сердцах нет злобы и зависти.

Богоявление в Греции

Богоявление — это один из крупнейших праздников православной церкви, который отмечается 6 января в память о крещении Христа в реке Иордан Иоанном Крестителем и освящении воды.

epiphanyЭтот праздник в Греции называется Феофания (Богоявление) или Фота(Крещением, то есть Просвещением/Божественным освящением мира).

В церквях поют тропарь “Во Иордане крещающуся Тебе, Господи, Троическое явися поклонение…”, в то время как духовенство и паства направляются к ближайшему берегу моря (или реки, озера, источника, водоема), чтобыбросить туда Крест для освящения воды. Сразу же после этого пловцы прыгают в воду, соревнуясь, кто первым из них достанет из воды Крест. Раньше победитель обходил с Крестом дома, собирая деньги для себя или в благотворительных целях. В некоторых уголках Греции по сей день сохранился обычай обхода домов. В настоящее время, доставшего первым Крест ждет удача и хорошее здоровье в течение всего года.

 

Unfortunately there are no hotels at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no cruise offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.