Mountainous Corinthia

Mountainous Corinthia

Things to do - general

Mountainous Corinthia is a picturesque area in the Peloponnese 1.5 hrs from Athens. This makes it an ideal destination for a day trip or weekend getaway for those that live, arrive, or are staying in the capital of Greece.

The area is occupied by the Kyllini Mountain (is also called Ziria) located in the south-eastern side of the prefecture of Corinthia.  The mountain is full of small villages, like Trikala, Evrostini, Velina or Goura, most of them being today ready to host the visitors. There are plenty of hotels, tradition houses and luxury villas, restaurants and taverns. The biggest of the villages of this area, Trikala, is consisted by three settlements; Kato (lower), Mesaia (middle) and Ano (upper) Trikala. But the highlight of the area is the artificial lake Doxa with the small island in the middle.

The element of mythology is very intense in this area. Here is the lake Stymphalia where Hercules killed the Stymphalian Birds with his bow to accomplish his sixth labour. According to the myth, the birds where man-eating and had beaks of bronze.

Kyllini or Ziria: a lair for divine herbs

It is one of the few Greek mountains which have so many tops over 2000 m in altitude and features rich alpine scenery. Lakes, highlands and a green plateau comprise the natural scenery for a varied biota to live in.

Sports and activities

The area is perfect for mountain activities and in combination with the natural beautyand the friendly Greek climate, you will surely enjoy. As the mountain has so many tops, it is an ideal spot for trekking. There are many paths everywhere so that you can choose the route that suits you better. For the lovers of machines (and haters of walking) there is also the possibility to explore the area by 4×4 car in organized or not tracks. In the Ziria Sports Centre, 10km far from the Ano Trikala, you will find a small ski centre for the winter with 2 ski lifts (1 baby) and ski/snowboard rent, chalet, ATV rental, and walking/biking paths for the summer. Finally mountain biking, paintballand horse riding at the Centre of Free Riding in the village “Rethi” are some other options that Ziria can offer you.

Local products 

The most famous among the agricultural products of Corinthia known from the antiquity is the grapes and mainly  thewines. There is a kind of vine, known as the “Corinthian currant”, which grows only in the region of Corinthia. That wonderful grape, “white” or dark with the tinny berries, slight skin and without core is one of the most tasteful fresh or dried fruits and the source of this ancient nectar.

The Greek Feta cheese of Ziria is considered to be something special.

There are also honey, pulses, fresh vegetables and fruits, mainly the Corinthian grape, wine, walnuts and chestnuts, herbs and “mountain tea”.

Country Greece
Visa requirementsviza
The Grand Chalet

The Grand Chalet

, [:en] Mountainous Corinthia [:ru]Горная Коринфия
  A mountainous paradise just 145 km from Athens!!! “The Grand Chalet Villas” is located in Ano Trik More info

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no cruise offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.

Горная Коринфия

Горная Коринфия

Things to do - general

Горная Коринфия – живописная область полуострова Пелопоннес. Близость к Афинам (всего 1.5 ч) делает ее идеальным направлением для однодневной или двухдневной поездки для туристов, проживающих в столице Греции.

Гора Киллини (или Зирия) располагается на юго-восточной части префектуры Коринфия. Горные деревушки такие как,Трикала, Евростини, Велина и Гура являются популярными направлениями среди туристов, предоставляя отели,традиционные дома, роскошные виллы, рестораны и таверны. Самая большая деревня области – Трикала, состоит из трех зон: «Като» (Нижняя), «Месэа» (Средняя) и «Ано» (Верхняя) Трикала. Визитной карточкой области является искусственное озеро Докса, в центре которого находится небольшой остров.

Горная Коринфия имеет богатую мифологию. Здесь находится озеро Стимфалия, где Геракл убил Стимфальских птиц и совершил свой шестой подвиг. Согласно мифу, эти птицы имели бронзовое оперенье и питались людьми.

Киллини или Зирия: местность с лекарственными травами

Киллини (Зирия) является одной из греческих гор, обладающей вершинами высотой более 2000 м и живописными алпийскими пейзажами. Озера, горная местность и зеленое плато составляют природный пейзаж и биотоп.

Активный отдых и спорт

Область идеально подходит для разнообразных горных видов спорта, в сочетании с природной красотой и теплым греческим климатом. Гора, имеющая множество вершини и маршрутов, идеально подходит для трекинга. Любители машин (и ненавистники ходьбы) имеют возможность исследовать область наджипе 4х4. В спортивном центре Зирия, в 10 км от «Ано Трикала», располагаетсянебольшой горнолыжный центр с двумя подъемниками (один для детей), где можно арендовать в зимний период лыжи, сноуборд, вездеходы, шале, а в летний период можно совершить велосипедные прогулки или заняться пешеходным туризмом. Также, в центре верховой езды в деревне «Рети» в Зирия, можете принять участие в соревнованиях по пейнтболу, совершить прогулки на горных велосипедах и заняться верховой ездой.

Местные продукты

Одними из самых известных сельскохозяйственных продуктов Коринфии являются виноград и вино.«Коринфийская  смородина» — сорт винограда, который растет только в области Коринфии. Этот замечательный виноград, белый или темный, с маленькими плодами, тонкой кожурой и без косточек, является одним из самых вкусных фруктов (свежий или сушеный) и источником этого древнего нектара.

Греческий сыр фета Зирии имеет уникальный вкус.

Местная продукция: мед, бобовые, свежие фрукты и овощи, Коринфийский виноград, вино, орехи и каштаны, травы и горный чай.

Country Greece
Visa requirementsviza
The Grand Chalet

The Grand Chalet

, [:en] Mountainous Corinthia [:ru]Горная Коринфия
Рай в горах … всего в 145 км от Афин! “The Grand Шале Виллы” находится в Ано (Верхние) Трикала More info

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no cruise offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.