Zagorohoria

Zagorohoria

Things to do - general

Zagorohoria …The star in the crown of Epirus!
In Greece there are few areas more surprising or more alluring than Zagori!
It is the collective name (Zagori, Zagoria, Zagorochoria or Zagorohoria) is the northern part of Pindos total area of about a thousand square kilometers.
Brings together 46 villages, spread here and there, the route of the study coincides with the path of knowledge of Epirus wine. These places have heaped praise on Lord Byron immortalized them in his poem about the wanderings of Childe Harold.
Accommodation & Fun: In almost all the villages there are plenty of choices for your stay, including hotels, traditional guesthouses and mansions that combine the genuine atmosphere of Epirus (with earthly elements, like stone and wood) with exceptional luxury and all the modern conveniences.
In the restaurants and taverns you can taste traditional dishes and Zagori famous pies. We recommend the very special “Margarites” restaurant in the village of Kipi, which reflects the elegance and hospitality of its owner, Mrs. Ninetta.

For Extreme Sports Lovers: If you like extreme sports, try rafting on the Voidomatis River. Its tranquil waters with their dreamy beauty are suitable even for the beginners! Here the nature lovers can indulge in trekking, mountaineering, climbing, rafting, kayak, horseback riding, paragliding or mountain biking, to test their stamina and enjoy the unique beauty of the landscape.
Hiking, hiking… and hiking! All the villages are connected by hiking trails. The routes are numerous and cross villages, paths, stairs, bridges and canyons.

Art Break & Holidays: In Zagorohoria Nature attracts the artists that can spend endless hours painting, photographing, writing or composing music under the dreamy colors and the amazing sounds of Nature.

Weddings in Zagorohoria: If you wish your wedding to become a special event, then make the wedding ceremony accompanied by the Greek music and spend your honeymoon in one of the most beautiful and luxurious suites!

More about Zagorohoria
In the north-east of the city of Ioannina, between the green mountains Pindos, chain stretching 46 picturesque villages, or otherwise Zagorohoria. The word “indicator” is first mentioned in manuscripts of 1321 and means “far off” is one of the many names of the Greek mainland, who came from the Slavic language. Zagorohoria are famous not only for its natural beauty and unusual architecture, but also a rich history. The natural beauty, coupled with unlimited attacks on nature hikes, a variety of recreational activities, impress and fascinate the many visitors and newcomers. Zagorohoria, an area of approximately 1,000 km ², divided geographically into 3 parts: The Western, Eastern and Central Zagori.
Each of them has its immediate beauty and history!
Central Zagori: located in the north of the city of Ioannina and it includes such wonderful villages like Wits, Monodendri known Vlahohoria (Vrisohori, Iliohori, Laista), Kipi, Dilofo, Asprageli and Kukula, Kapesovo, Tsepelovo, Skamneli, Negades, and in addition villages of the Upper Valley Vicos (Vradeto, Elati, Elafotopos, Upper and Lower Pedina), as well as the village Dikorfo, Manasseh, Kaluta, Dipotamo, Fragades and Leptokaria

– Monodendri village: One of the villages, to which you should pay attention when visiting the area – is Monodedri. It is situated at an altitude of 1060 meters above sea level, at a distance of 39 km from Ioannina. It is famous for its architecture and excellent location. Walking through the cobbled streets, a large central square, traditional stone houses and mansions, as well as the church of Agios Minas and Agios Athanasios- that’s what may interest visitors. In addition, should walk up to the Monastery of Agia Paraskevi, from where breathtaking views and visit the unique gorge Vickos, recorded in the Guinness Book of Records as the gorge with the smallest gap (about 1,100 meters at the narrowest part of it and at the same time, the depth of more than 900 meters).

– Kipi – is a picturesque village in the heart of Zagorje, built on a hill, and its distance from Ioannina is 39 km away. The main notable feature is the gardens, among which is the river, decorated with stone bridges.
You can be found on cobbled streets, stone houses, and “Hayat” (large domestic private balcony, usually on the south side of the house, a typical element of the local architecture) and a clock in a high tower.
Also noteworthy are the Church of Agios Nicholaos and a wonderful museum which presents an interesting collection of folk artefacts.
Of particular interest is the “Foundation” – part of the dwelling, usually intended for the male population, as well as the famous bridge Kokori, who became the favorite place for shooting many commercials.

– Elati village of Zagori: Elati is amphitheatrically built in a sylvan north region of the Mitsikeli Mount, with a view to the mountains and forests of Mount Tymfi with an exceptional climate. It is a closed distance destination from the city of Ioannina, but also a central point for the tour of every visitor to the rest villages of Zagori region. In Elati you can visit the church of Agios Georgios, built in 1806. Elati, is hidden in a big forest of oak trees, pine and fir trees and gives to the visitor a magnificent view to Zagori and the peaks of Tymfi. Don’t miss out to stop in the square with its tall plane and in the church of Agios Georgios. Also, don’t miss the stoned founts, the bridge and the route till Dikoryfo through a rich forest.

– Aristi is a beautiful large village, 48 km away from Ioannina. It is found on the way to the village Papigo, just before the impressive monastery of Virgin Mary Spiliotissa, which is built on the edge of a cave’s rock precisely above the river and the bridge of Voidomatis. In the central square of the village you can have your coffee in one of the traditional cafes and admire the imposing church of the Assumption of Virgin Mary with its high belfry. In Aristi you will also find shops with items of folkloric art in beautiful picturesque paved alleys and you will see the old tap in the middle of the village.
So, as you will be coming back from we suggest you to stop and enjoy some delicious coffee in the traditional coffeehouse in the square of Aristi!

– Asprageli: The «Gate of Zagori», is located at a distance of 30 km. from Ioannina City, ideal base for trips to the other villages. In 1943 the Germans destroyed the village. The ruins of the church of Agios Nikolaos, that reveal the glory of the past, are still saved. Worth visiting the Monastery of Asprageli with a route lasting an hour, that offers a magnificent view to the basin of Ioannina. Also, the sunset from the entrance of the village is a unique spectacle.
Worth doing trips on the slopes of the mountains around it.
Sightseeing
– River Voidomatis: Earthly Paradise, as the locals say, with its crystal clear waters and the surrounding thick plane-tree groves.
– Stone bridges: At almost every step there are the traditional stone bridges that attract the eye with their beauty and fine architecture.
-The unique valley Vicos, which is recorded in the Guinness Book of Records.
– In addition, you can visit the archaeological sites of great historical value, lake, surrounded by the beautiful wildlife, picturesque bridges and museums of special interest to lovers of history and folk customs.
Distances
– 320 km from Salonika in Konitsa
– 445 km fron Athens
– 40 km from Metsovo, to the East Village of Zagori.
– 20 km grom Ioannina and will meet the first village in Central and Eastern Zagorohoria.

Getting There: The most convenient way to visit Zagoria is by car.
Cars may be rented in Ioannina, Thessaloniki and Athens but general availability and the best values are to be found in Athens.
From Athens, take the National Highway to Larissa. This portion is an interesting and scenic drive that passes the famous monasteries of Meteora and through gorgeous mountain landscapes.
Most of the access roads to Zagoria are located between Metsovo and Konitsa along the main highway from Ioannina to Kastoria.
Ioannina is the nearest destination for bus and air service from major Greek cities.
Advanced reservations are necessary for those planning to rent a car due to limited availability, especially in August when most Greeks take their vacations.
There are daily local buses from Ioannina to the villages of Papingo, Monodendri and Tsepelovo as well as the many villages along the way.

 

Famous men from Zagori for “Commerce and Philanthropy”

1-Georgios_RizarisManthos Rizaris (1764–1824) and Georgios Rizaris (1769–1842) were Greek benefactors, merchants and members of 2_903the organization Filiki Eteria and founders of the Rizarios Hieratical School in Athens. Rizari brothers were born in the village ofMonodendri of Zagori region.

They lost both parents at an early age. Manthos Rizaris, the elder brother, moved to Moscow, in order to work in his uncle’s trading business.  At 1806 Georgios followed. They got involved in trade and made a fortune. At 1817 Manthos became member of Filiki Eteria, and supported financially with huge amounts of money the Greek Revolution: a total donation of over 50.000 Russian rubbles was offered for the Revolution’s objectives. Manthos, died at 1824 in Russia.

Both brothers supported the independence of Greece. With their financial aid helped: the poor, the orphans, the ones that suffered because of the armed conflicts that took place during this period. After Manthos’ death, Georgios moved to Odessa, and continued his business there. He found in his home place (Monodendri) the School of Greek Courses. Many orphans were awarded with full scholarships, including full coverage of their living costs. At 1837 George Rizaris settled in Athens, his goal was to found a Religious Institution in the newly formed Greek state that would prepare educated priests. At 1843 after his death, the Hieratical School has started to function.

3_mP1010110In gratitude for their contribution, the school was named: Rizarios Hieratical School. The school continues to function as a religious and educational institution today and it is based in Athens.4_mP1010113

Moreover, they have founded in their home place Monodendri the Rizaris Handicraft Centre, the“Angelos Kitsos OpenAir Theatre and the Rizaris Gatherings and Exhibition Centre.

Their bequests continue to offer to Greek education and Greek Orthodox Church.

Country Greece
Arhondiko Zarkada Hotel

Arhondiko Zarkada Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Description Here in picturesque Monodendri village in Zagori area, Zarkadas Family created a high qu More info
Aristi's Mansion Hotel

Aristi's Mansion Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Description In the heart of Zagori between of residential enclaves, in Aristi, gifted with a privile More info
Constantine and Helen hotel

Constantine and Helen hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Description The luxurious Constantine and Helen is a traditional guest house in Monodendri, in Zagor More info
Dovra Hotel

Dovra Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Description Welcome to the Hotel Dovra. Situated with in a distance lesser than 25 km from the city More info
Driofillo Hotel

Driofillo Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Description Behind mount Mitsikeli, at the famous Zagoroxoria, in Elati Village lies the newly build More info
Machalas Hotel

Machalas Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Description Inside the beeches tufted at the heart of central Zagori in the village Kipi, is lying t More info
Matzato Hotel & Restaurant

Matzato Hotel & Restaurant

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Description In Monodendri, the best known village in Zagori, the agro touristic hotel & restaura More info
Melition Hotel

Melition Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Description Welcome to Zagori the best destination for your holidays! This small mountain part is in More info
Zagori Philoxenia hotel

Zagori Philoxenia hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Description In Monodendri of Zagori we created for you a warm-hospitable place, two elegant stone-ma More info
Kipoi Aggelon Hotel

Kipoi Aggelon Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Description Dreamy vacations in one of the best A΄ class boutique traditional hotels, in a restored More info
The Tritoxo

The Tritoxo

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Description In the beautiful village Koukouli in Zagori you will find Eleftheria Dimou’s guest More info
Zagori Athina Hotel

Zagori Athina Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Description Welcome to our guest house Zagori Athina! In Elati village of Zagori in the location  More info

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no cruise offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.

Загорохорья

Загорохорья

Things to do - general

Звезда в короне Эпира – Загорианские деревни!
На территории Греции найдется немного областей более удивительных или более соблазнительных, чем Загори. Это собирательное название (Zagori, Zagoria, Zagorochoria или Zagorohoria) носит северная часть Пинда общей площадью приблизительно в тысячу квадратных километров.
Объединивший 46 деревень, раскинувшихся тут и там, маршрут их изучения совпадет с путем познания эпирского вина. Эти места нахваливал еще лорд Байрон, увековечив их в своей поэме о скитаниях Чайльд-Гарольда.

— Проживание и развлечения: Почти во всех деревнях есть множество вариантов для проживания, включая отели, гостевые дома и традиционные особняки, которые сочетают подлинную атмосферу Эпира (с использованием природных материалов, таких как камень и дерево) с исключительной роскошью и современными удобствами.
В ресторанах и тавернах вы можете отведать традиционные блюда и знаменитые пироги Загори. Мы рекомендуем замечательный ресторан «Margarites» в деревне Кипи, облик которого отражает тонкий вкус и гостеприимство его владелицы г-жи Нинетты.

— Для любителей экстремальных видов спорта: Если вы любите экстремальные виды спорта, попробуйте рафтинг на фантастически красивой реке Войдоматис. Ее спокойные воды подходят даже для начинающих!
В этих местах любители природы могут посвятить время пешим прогулкам, альпинизму, скалолазанию, рафтингу, плаванию на каяках, верховой езде, парапланеризму или поездкам на горном велосипеде, проверить свою выносливость, одновременно наслаждаясь неповторимой красотой пейзажа.
Пешие походы, походы… и еще раз походы! Все деревни соединены пешеходными тропами. Многочисленные и разнообразные маршруты включают деревни, лесные тропинки, горные лестницы, каменные мосты и ущелья.

— Культурный отдых: В Загорохорья природа манит к себе творческих людей, которые посвящают множество времени рисованию, съемкам, сочинению книг или музыки в фантастической обстановке, среди удивительных цветов и неповторимых звуков.

— Свадьбы в Загорохорья: Если вы хотите, чтобы ваша свадьба стала незабываемым событием, устройте свадебное торжество под аккомпанемент греческой музыки и проведите медовый месяц в одном из самых красивых и роскошных люксовых номеров!
Станьте главными героями романтического фотоальбома на фоне чудесных природных декораций, которые могут встретиться вам только в Загорохорья!
Еще об Загорохорья

На северо-востоке города Иоаннина, между зеленых гор Пинда, цепочкой тянутся 46 живописных сел, или иначе Загорохорья. Слово “Загори” впервые упоминается в рукописях 1321 года и означает «за горами», является одним из многих названий континентальной Греции, которые пришли из славянского языка. Загорохорья славятся не только своей природной красотой и необычной архитектурой, но и богатой историей. Природная красота, в сочетании с неограниченными возможностями вылазок на природу, походами, различным активным отдыхом, впечатляют и завораживают многочисленных посетителей и приезжих.
Загорохорья, площадью около 1000 км², делятся географически на 3 части: Западное, Восточное и Центральное Загори. Каждая из них имеет свою непосредственную красоту и историю. Центральное Загори расположено на севере от города Иоаннина и включает в себя такие замечательные села, как Витса, Монодендри, известные Влахохорья (Врисохори, Илиохори, Лаиста), Кипи, Дилофо, Аспрагели и Кукули, Капесово, Цепелово, Скамнели, Негадес, а кроме этого сёла долины Верхнего Вику (Врадето, Элати, Элафотопос, Верхний и Нижний Педина), также как и села Дикорфо, Манасси, Калута, Дипотамо, Фрагадес и Лептокариа.
— Монодедри: Одно Одноиз сел, на которое стоит обратить внимание при посещении данной местности — это Монодедри. Оно находится на высоте 1060 метров над уровнем моря, на расстоянии 39 км от Иоаннина. Славится своей архитектурой и прекрасным месторасположением.Прогулка по мощеным улицам, большая центральная площадь, каменные традиционные дома и усадьбы, а также церкви Св. Мина и Св.Асанасии — это то, что может заинтересовать посетителей. Кроме этого стоит прогуляться до монастыря Св. Параскеви, от куда открывается захватывающий вид, и посетить уникальное ущелье Вику, записанное в Книгу рекордов Гиннеса, как ущелье с наименьшей щелью (около 1100 метра в самой узкой его части и в то же время глубиной более чем 900 метров).
— Кипи — это одна живописная деревенька в центре Загорья, построена на холме и ее расстояние от Иоаннина составляет 39 км. Основной примечательной особенностью являются сады, между которыми протекает река, украшенная каменными мостами. Тут найдете мощеные мостовые, каменные дома, а также «хайяти» (большой внутренний закрытый балкон, обычно на южной стороне дома, типовой элемент местной архитектуры), часы, высокую колокольню. Внимания заслуживают также церковь Св. Николая и прекрасный музей Агипия Толи, в котором представлена интересная коллекция фольклорных экспонатов. Особый интерес представляют «онда» — часть жилища, обычно предназначенная для мужского населения, а также известный мост Кокори, который стал любимым местом съемок многих рекламных роликов.
— Деревня Элати: Деревня построена амфитеатром в лесистой северной части горы Мицикели, с видом на поросшие лесом горы Тимфи, и обладает исключительным климатом. Она находится на небольшом расстоянии от города Янина, и в то же время может служить отправным пунктом для путешествий по другим населенным пунктам района Загорохорья. В Элати вы можете посетить церковь Святого Георгия, построенную в 1806 году. Деревня затерялась среди обширного леса из дубов, сосен и елей; отсюда открывается великолепный вид на Загори и вершины гор Тимфи. Не упустите возможность осмотреть площадь с высоким платаном, церковь Св. Георгия, каменные фонтаны, старинный мост, а также совершить прогулку по густому лесу до села Дикорифо.
— Аристи – это большое красивое село, расположенное в 48 км от города Янина. Оно находится на пути к селу Папиго, совсем недалеко от монастыря Богоматери Спилиотиссы, построенного в потрясающем месте – на краю отвесной скалы, прямо над старинным мостом через реку Войдоматис. На центральной площади деревни вы можете заказать чашечку кофе в одной из традиционных кофеен и полюбоваться впечатляющей церковью Успения Богородицы с ее высокой колокольней. В Аристи вы также можете посетить сувенирные лавки, прогуливаясь по тенистым, мощеным камнем живописным улочкам.
Когда вы будете возвращаться из очередного путешествия по окрестностям, мы рекомендуем вам остановиться и попробовать восхитительный кофе в традиционной кофейне на главной площади Аристи!
— Аспрангели: Эта деревня является «воротами Загорохорья». Она находится на расстоянии 30 км от города Янина и представляет собой идеальный отправной пункт для поездок в другие селения. В 1943 году деревня была уничтожена немцами в отместку за сопротивление. Сохранившиеся развалины церкви Св. Николая свидетельствуют о славном прошлом этих мест. Стоит посетить монастырь Аспрангели, находящийся примерно в часе пути, откуда открывается великолепный вид на Янинскую равнину. Кроме того, при въезде в деревню можно полюбоваться закатом солнца, являющим собой уникальное зрелище.
Также стоит совершить прогулки по горным склонам вокруг села.

В Загорохорья вниманию посетителей предстанут:
— Река Воидомати. Земной Рай, как говорят местные жители, с ее кристально чистыми водами и окружающими густыми платановыми рощами.
— Мосты. Почти на каждом шагу встречаются традиционные каменные мостики, которые притягивают взгляд своей красотой и отличной архитектурой.
— уникальное ущелье Вику, которое записано в Книгу рекордов Гиннеса, как ущелье с наименьшей щелью (около 1100 метра в самой узкой его части и в то же время глубиной более чем 900 метров).
— Кроме этого можете посетить археологические места большой исторической ценности, озера, окруженные прекрасной дикой природой, живописные мостовые, а также музеи, представляющие особый интерес для любителей истории и народных обычаев.

Как добраться:
из Салоник через Коница, расстояние 320 км.
— через Мецово, на расстоянии 40 км находятся Восточные Села Загорья.
— из Иоаннина, на расстоянии 20 км встретите первые села Центрального и Восточного Загорохорья.
Известные уроженцы Загори – коммерсанты и филантропы

1-Georgios_RizarisМантос Ризарис (1764–1824) и Георгиос Ризарис (1769–1842) – греческие торговцы, благотворители, члены 2_903организации «Филики Этерия» и учредители Духовной Семинарии в Афинах, носящей их имя. Братья Ризарисы родились в селе Монодендри в районе Загори.

В раннем возрасте они потеряли обоих родителей. Старший брат Мантос Ризарис переехал в Москву,discovergreece.ru/ipiros/zagorohoriaчтобы работать в торговом предприятии своего дяди. В 1806 г. за ним последовал Георгиос. Они занялись торговлей и нажили крупное состояние. В 1817 г. Мантос стал членом тайного общества «Филики Этерия» и оказывал щедрую финансовую поддержку участникам Греческого восстания против турецкого господства: в общей сложности он пожертвовал восставшим более 50.000 рублей. В 1824 г. Мантос умер в России.
Оба брата помогли становлению независимого Греческого государства. Они оказывали благотворительную помощь неимущим, сиротам, жертвам вооруженных конфликтов, имевших место в то время. После смерти Мантоса Георгиос переехал в Одессу, и там продолжил заниматься торговлей. Он основал на своей родине в Монодендри Школу греческого языка. Многие сироты обучались в этой школе по стипендиям, включавшим полное покрытие расходов на их проживание и питание. В 1837 г. Георгиос Ризарис поселился в Афинах. Его целью было основание в недавно созданном Греческом государстве духовного образовательного учреждения, которое бы готовило образованных священнослужителей. В 1843 г., после его смерти, открылась учрежденная им Духовная семинария.
3_mP1010110В благодарность за неоценимый вклад братьев Ризарисов, семинария была названа их именем. Она находится в Афинах и до сих пор продолжает функционировать как духовное учебное заведение.4_mP1010113
Кроме того, знаменитые меценаты создали на своей малой родине в Монодендри Центр Ремесел «Ризарио», Театр под открытым небом «Ангелос Кицос» и Центр Выставок и Собраний «Ризарио». Их наследие до сих пор имеет огромное значение для греческого образования и Православной Церкви.

Country Greece
Arhondiko Zarkada Hotel

Arhondiko Zarkada Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Описание Здесь, в живописной деревне Монодендри в области Загори семья Заркадас основалапервоклассны More info
The Mansion of Aristi

The Mansion of Aristi

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Описание В сердце области Загори, в одном из тех мест, где люди жили испокон веков наедине с дикой п More info
Constantine & Helen Hotel

Constantine & Helen Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Описание Роскошный Constantine & Helen— это  гостеприимный дом, основанный на греческих тр More info
Dovra Hotel

Dovra Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Описание Добро пожаловать в отель Dovra! Расположенный менее чем в 25 км от города Янина, впокрытой More info
Driofillo Hotel

Driofillo Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Описание За горой Мицикели, в знаменитой местности Загорохорья, в деревне Элати находитсянедавно пос More info
Machalas Hotel

Machalas Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Описание Среди раскидистых буков, в самом сердце горной местности Загори, в деревне Кипи, расположен More info
Matzato Hotel & Restaurant

Matzato Hotel & Restaurant

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Описание В Монодендри, самой известной деревне в Загори находится агротуристический отель и ресторан More info
Melition Hotel

Melition Hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Описание Добро пожаловать в Загори – лучшее место для вашего отдыха! Это небольшая горная местность More info
Zagori Philoxenia hotel

Zagori Philoxenia hotel

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Описание В Монодендри – одной из деревень области Загорохорья – мы создали для васгостеприимный отел More info
Отель Kipoi Aggelon

Отель Kipoi Aggelon

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Описание В одном из лучших традиционных бутик-отелей, который размещается в отреставрированном 3-эта More info
The Tritoxo

The Tritoxo

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Описание В живописной деревне в Загори находится пансион Елефтерии Диму, в котором вам будет предост More info
Oтель Zagori Athina

Oтель Zagori Athina

, [:en] Zagorohoria [:ru]Загорохорья
Описание Добро пожаловать в гостеприимный отель Athina! В области Загорохорья, в деревнеЭлати, в мес More info

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no cruise offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.