Kalloni - Bird watching

Kalloni - Bird watching

Things to do - general

Kalloni is situated in the center of Lesvos and it is very convenient for visitors wishing to take time out to explore the island. Favored by nature, embraced by the Gulf, the 100 square kilometer fertile flat land watered by rivers and fertilized by underground waters, under the guardianship of the historic monasteries, Kalloni was the main cross-road of the island something that has very little changed since Antiquity.
Kalloni means “beautiful”, maybe telling us what the first settlers thought about the area they chose to visit.
The bay of Kalloni and in particular the beach town of Skala Kalloni is the nature capital as well as “the sardine capital” of the island.
We all know the renowned sardines from the Gulf of Kalloni which even though small in size, their taste is considered the best in comparison to sardines from other areas of Greece.
Skala Kallonis is one of the sunniest places in Greece and the local sandy beaches are shallow and family friendly, with quiet as well as more crowded places for you to relax and enjoy the “Aegean Sea and Sun”.

Bird watching now!

le_flamingos
Nothing is more observation refines and develops sight and hearing, as the observation of birds – it has long been noticed by us. We can add: nothing helps again, even for a time, to feel like a kid, as an amateur bird-watching, which can be your hobby during our retreats.
The town of Kalloni sits in a lush and enormous valley that borders the bay of Kalloni.
This valley is home to many different species of birds, which stop in the marshes on their way to and from northern Europe and wildflowers.
Actually, the Wetland of Kalloni Gulf is one of the most significant parts of the ecologic assets of Lesvos.
Thus Kalloni attracts many birdwatchers and botanists especially during spring and autumn where most birds and wildflowers are observed.
A mosaic of salt-pits, small rivers and torrents estuaries, reedy-areas, pine trees woods and olive groves give natural shelter to numerous rare and protected species of birds. Therefore, the area has been placed among the European Program “Special Areas of Nature’s Preservation” of the net NATURA 2000.
At least 134 species of birds have been registered, 66 of which are migratory without having included the particular species of the neighbouring terrestrial ecosystems.
Walking on the beaches of Skala Kallonis you follow in the footsteps of philosopher Aristotle and his colleague, the Lesvos-born Theophrastus from Eressos and many are those finding inspiration here.
Aristotle’s biological research was a landmark in the history of science; and that all began in Lesbos, “… where burning Sappho loved and sung”, as Lord Byron put it.

Accommodation in Skala Kallonis
The sandy beach of Skala Kallonis provides safe bathing for families and there are water sports facilities available for the more active.
Here the travellers can expect to be welcomed by any one of the modern hotel complexes, which provide a large range of amenities and services, while sampling the farmed sea food appetizers and parting at the night spots along the beach which promise lively nights beside the waves….

Things to Do and See

Kalloni is the second most important town on the island after the capital Mitilene, and with its cafes, restaurants, shopping opportunities especially for gift or jewellery shops and public services the needs of inhabitants and visitors are satisfied all year around.
The pleasant climate in spring and autumn invites you to enjoy the great variations in flora and fauna and to discover the rich history and culture while on foot or on bicycle.

– Every year in August a “Sardine Festival” is organized for locals and tourists.
– During Orthodox Easter, the most important of events in Greece, Skala Kallonis is an exciting place to be. Here are both typical traditions as well as some very local ones, such as the huge bonfire in the square and symbolic burning of Judas the night before Resurrection.
– With the flatlands surrounding the Gulf of Kalloni, the area offers many possibilities for exploration by walking or bicycling.
Bicycle hire is very popular at this resort, especially with so much level ground around, and there are plenty of places to visit without sweating up mountainous inclines.
– If you’re a summer person, you’ll find all sorts of activities. Water sports, romantic seashores, tranquil coves, lounging in cult cafes and trendy eateries, frenzied clubbing, and lots of ouzo and meze.

mannou– Visit Agia Paraskevi one of the biggest villages of Lesvos, among the hills and close to the plain of Kalloni.
This old village is becoming a powerful cultural and economic center for the island.
Agia Paraskevi is known for its old mansions, unique architecture, for its festivals and for the Museum of Industrial Olive Oil Production. The museum is housed in the premises of the old communal olive oil press of Agia Paraskevi. In the main building the three basic steps of olive oil production, crushing the olives, pressing the pulp and separating the oil from water are shown. The Museum has also a multi purpose hall for hosting different types of events, a cafe, and a small open air theatre.
Agia Paraskevi is famous all over Lesvos for the “Fest of the Bull”, a big folkloric festival with many happenings. Its main event is the Sacrifice of the Bull, very popular with the locals. It is the main social event of the village and an occasion for natives of the village living elsewhere to visit the homeland of their fathers.
– If you’re a religious person Kalloni is the right place.
The holy Monastery of Panagias Myrsiniotissas was in 1530 unique in Greece as a school for women. Nuns still live in this beautiful monastery that it is open to visitors, but only women can enter the main areas.
The monastery of Limon (Moni Leimonos) is the largest and most imposing monastery on the island. With its history, museum, unique documents and icons, size, surroundings and current religious use, this monastery offers an interesting meeting with the Greek Orthodoxy.
The annual celebration before and on 14th October attracts locals and pilgrims, combining
religion inside with shopping outside.

Country Greece

Unfortunately there are no hotels at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no cruise offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.

Каллони - наблюдение за птицами

Каллони - наблюдение за птицами

Things to do - general

Каллони расположена в самом центре Лесбос — это дает вазможность туристам любоваться красотами всего острова. Природа щедро одарила Каллонни, окружила водами залива, подарила богатую равнину площадью 100 кв. км, по которой протекают 6 рек. Подводные и родниковые воды орошают виноградники и сады Каллони, исторические монастыри опекают ее . С самого начала она являлась перекрестком острова и незначительно изменилась со времен античности.
Каллони, в переводе с греческого языка, означает “красивая”, возможно так подумали первые поселенцы этой местности.
Залив Каллони и особенно бухта Скала Каллони являются центром экотуризма и “столицей сардин” острова.
Мы все знаем знаменитые сардины залива Каллони, которые несмотря на свой маленький размер, имеют непревзайденный вкус, отличающий их от сардин из других районов Греции.
Скала Каллони является одним из самых солнечных мест в Греции .Ее мелководные песчаные пляжи идеальны для семейного отдыха и даже во время массового приезда туристов можно без труда найти уединенное место и вдоволь насладиться “Эгейским морем и солнцем”.

Наблюдение за птицами!

le_flamingos
Ничто так не утончает наблюдательность, развивает зрение и слух, как наблюдение за птицами — это подмечено давно и не нами. От себя добавим: ничто так не помогает вновь, пусть на время, почувствовать себя ребенком, как любительская орнитология, которая может стать вашим хобби на время отпуска.
Город Каллони располагается в богатой растительностью долине, которая граничит с заливом Каллони.
Эта долина является домом для разнообразных редких видов птиц, которые останавливаются на болотах по пути в/из Северную Европу.
Водно-болотные угодия залива Каллони являются одними из наиболее значимых частей экологии Лесбоса.
Каллони посещяют многие любители птиц, экотуристы и ботаники, особенно весной и осенью, когда предоставляется уникальная возможность понаблюдать за птицами и дикими цветами.
Мозаика из солевых ям, мелких речушек, соснового леса, оливковых рощ, предоставляют убежище многочисленным редким охраняемым видам птиц.Таким образом эти биотопы залива были включены в европейскую программу “Особые районы сохранения природы и природоохранную сеть 2000”.
На Каллони были зарегистрированы 134 вида птиц ,66 из которых являются мигрирующими.
Прогуливаясь по пляжу Скала Каллони вы будете следовать по стопам философа Аристотеля и его коллеги родом из Эрессос Теофраста и многие находят вдохновение в этом.
Биологические исследования Аристотеля стали вехой в истории науки и все это началось на острове Лесбос,… “где страстная Сапфо любила и пела”, как писал лорд Байрон .

Проживание в Скала Каллони
Песчаный пляж в Скала Каллони является значительным направлением летнего отдыха для греческих и иностранных поситителей, так как ее туристическая инфраструктура отвечает любым запросам. Семьи могут безопастно купатся и заниматься водными видами спорта.
Современные роскошные гостиничные комплексы обеспечивают широкий спектр удобств и услуг, а многочисленные таверны, рестораны и увеселительные заведения предлагают закуски и блюда из свежих морепродуктов и обещают веселые ночи под шум морских волн.

Стоит посмотреть и посетить
Каллони является вторым важным городом острова после столицы Митилини со множеством кафе, ресторанов, магазинов с разветвленной сетью транспортных и общественных услуг .Незабываемые воспоминания об острове вам оставят посещения сувенирных и ювелирных магазинов. И все это доступно туристам круглый год.
Мягкий климат в весенний и осенний период приглашает вас насладиться богатой флорой и фауной острова и открыть для себя богатую историю и культуру Лесбоса, пешком или на велосипеде.
— Каждый год в Августе на острове проходит “фестиваль сардин”, в котором туристы принимают участие вместе с местными жителями.
— Если вы хотите почуствовать атмосферу празнования православной Пасхи, являющимся наиболее важным событием в Греции ,то вы обезательно должны посетить живописную бухту Скала Каллони на Лесбосе. В программу празднования входят, как типичные православные традиции, так и местные,такие, как разведение огромного костра на городской площади и символическое сожжение чучела Иуды в ночь перед Воскресением.
— Вам предоставится возможность ознакомится с красотами равнин, окружающих залив Каллони пешком или на велосипеде.
Прокат велосипедов очень популярен в этом курортном месте, так как большинство мест посещения туристами расположен на равнинной местности и вам не доставит большого физического труда добраться туда на велосипеде.
— Любители летнего периода найдут здесь все виды развлечений: водные виды спорта, романтические морские побережья, спокойные бухты, модные кафе и клубы и много узо и разнообразных закусок.
— Не забудьте посетить Агию Параскеви , одно из самых больших сел Лесбоса , раскинувшейся среди холмов рядом с равниной Каллони.

mannou
Это старое село преобретает в последнее время значительную роль в культуре и экономике острова.
Агиа Параскеви известна своими старыми особняками, уникальной архитектурой, фестивалями и музеем промышленного производства оливкого масла. Музей размещается в здании старой маслобойни, раньше пренадлежавшей сельской общине. В главном здании показаны основные этапы производства оливкого масла : дробление оливок, отжим дробленой масы и отделение масла от воды. Музей также имеет зал для проведения различных мероприятий, кафе и небольшой открытый театр.
Агиа Параскеви известна по всему острову своим местным “праздником быка”. Основным событием праздника является жертвоприношение быка. Это особенное событие в жизни сельчан и является поводом для выходцев из села, живущих в других местах, чтобы посетить родину своих отцов.

-Каллони является илеальным местом для религиозного туризма.
Монастырь Панагии Мирсиниотисас известентем тем, что с 1530-ого года в нем была открыта первая школа для женщин в Греции. Монахини еще живут в этом красивом монастыре, который открыт для посетителей, но только женщины могут войти в основные внутренние помещения.
Монастырь Лимонос (Мони Лимонос) самый большой и величествинный монастырь на острове. Со своей историей, музеем, уникальными документами и иконами, со своим местоположением монастырь играет важную роль в современной религиозной жизни Греции и предлагает вам интересную встречу с греческим провославием.
Ежегодное празднование памяти основателя монастыря святого Игнатиоса начинается задолго до 14-ого октября и привлекает местных жителей и паломников. Праздник включает в себя как исполнение религиозных обрядов, так и народную ярмарку.

Country Greece

Unfortunately there are no hotels at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no cruise offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.