Chania

Chania

Things to do - general

Here you will find the crossroads of cultures and a paradise for the senses!

Here are canyons and caves, natural beauty of mountains, crystalline beaches for resting, architectural monuments and traditional special flavors and aromas. The place that combines all of this has a simply name – Chania!

– The old town of Chania is situated in the western part of the island and as it said in history, identified with the ancient Cydonia, one of the major cities of Minoan Crete.
– The walk through the narrow streets will return you to the ancient times with old buildings, elegant Venetian, Byzantine churches, mosques and paved neighborhoods that will lead you to the picturesque Venetian harbor, which will complete the romantic stroll beside the lofty Faros.
– In the city you will also see the Archaeological Museum of Chania that is housed in the imposing cathedral of St. Francis of the Order of the Franciscans, the Municipal Market that was inspired by the corresponding market of Massalia, which fills with colors and crowds and the Municipal Park which hosts a small zoo park with animals from Cretan fauna.

– In Topchana you can also see the church of San Salvatore, which houses the Byzantine and Post-Byzantine Collection of Chania

– Going down you will see the Square of Eleftherios Venizelos, the home of the famous politician, which houses the homonymous National Research Foundation, and the palace of Prince George and the Russian Church of St. Magdalene.

– “The princely church” of St. Mary Magdalene was built when the High Commissioner of Crete Prince George offered in early 1901 ten thousand rubles and plans for the erection of a church dedicated to Mary Magdalene, in memory of her staying in Chania in the house of her sister Mary, who was the wife of Grand Duke George of Russia.

– The narrow streets have the name Stivanadika, that are situated on the main road Skridlof, are always fulfilled with many small shops selling all kinds of leather (stivania are the tall boots from leather that wear Cretans).

– In the traditional “Macheradika” that are located along the road Sifakis, many professional masters nowadays continue the working with metal fabricating authentic Cretan knives.
– If you have a car, take a walk in Akrotiri, where are located tombs of the Venizelos, it is one of the most beautiful places of Chania with amazing panoramic views.
Mountains and canyons

Chania is divided with imperious White Mountains in two completely different landscapes. The section of coastline that is richer and more densely populated is one of the most authentic areas of Crete.
The largest, most imposing and beautiful gorge, not only in Chania but in all Europe, is in Samaria.
Over three hundred thousand lovers visit each year this wonderful landscape, with rare geomorphic formations and an unique habitat with unique flora and fauna and a rich mythology from prehistoric era. The Samaria Gorge begins at the plateau of Omalos it has 16 km long and from 3 to 300 m wide. The passage of the gorge, which lasts about 4-5 hours, is allowed from May to September.
The sea caves and non-cave places
of the region let us see the “games” of nature. The most impressive places are the place ofApokoronas, of St. Ioannis and os Arkoudospilios that is close to the Monastery Gouvernetos. Also it is worth to discover the green oases of traditional villages on the slopes of the White Mountains, where the cute little houses with the magnificent views and genuine hospitality welcome you for a day to feel yourself in the “village” escape. You can learn more information about thesimple life of Crete in Keramia, Vamos, Askufos with the paradise of Sfakia, Milia and Spilia.
Beaches:
The area of Chania offers dream beaches, it is 415 kilometers of coastline, many of beaches are organized and combined with excellent hotels.
– In Agia Marina, you can combine swimming with a fun, to drink your coffee in the organized beach bars and to try yourself in the water sports –the beach Ag.Marina is ideal for surfing-it is the most «mainstream» beach in the town. The sea is characterized with the stone in the deep and usually bright wave, but the waters are crystal clear. On the beach of Agia Marinayou can will in the evening, and here you will find more vibrant night clubs of the area. Close to it are situated the beaches ofMarathi and Loutraki which are also very well organized and have several taverns on your taste.
– On the beach of Platanias, the beautiful turquoise waters will host your most enjoyable dive. It is situated in the area of the village Maleme, which is ideal for quiet sunbathing.
– The beautiful Falasarna is known for its famous exotic beaches and the more-famous-annual Beach Party that is organizing here at the first week of August. Located about 60 km from Chania and you will reach here through the magical journey of Kissamos.
On the islands of Gramvousa and Balos, in the northwest of Chania, where you arrive by boat from Kissamos, the lagoon ofBalos will provoke you for diving in the green waters beneath the castles of the cape. The red-gold sand along the clear waters is impressive, but even more pleasing is the fact that this is one of the quietest and “natural” beaches on the island.
– On the beach Elafonisi: 80 km from the city of Chania, lies the majestic Elafonisi an exotic beach with white sand dunes, crystal clear, shallow waters and serene landscape. During your visit there, be sure to walk a few steps to reach the striking beach Kedrodasos.

 

Country Greece
Hermes Hotel

Hermes Hotel

, [:en] Chania [:ru]Ханья
  Description Hermes hotel is situated in the beautiful and picturesque city of Kissamos, west More info
Top Hotel

Top Hotel

, [:en] Chania [:ru]Ханья
Description “The Top Place To Be” Top Hotel welcomes you to the beautiful island of Cret More info

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no cruise offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.

Ханья

Ханья

Things to do - general

Вы попадет в место, где пересекаются культуры и традиций, настоящий рай для души!

Великолепные каньоны, пещеры, красоты горных ландшафтов, кристально-чистые пляжи для отдыха и отличного загара, исторические места и археологические памятники культуры, чистый воздух, пропитанный ароматами и запахами трав, — это все — Ханья!

Старый город в Ханья расположен в западной части острова, по данным истории, относится кдревней Сидонии, который являлся одним из крупнейших городов минойского Крита.

Вы почувствуете себя в древнее время, если прогуляетесь по узким улочкам города, на которых и по сей день сохранились древние постройки домов, осмотрите элегантные венецианские и византийские церквушки , пройдитесь по мощёной улочке, которая вас приведёт к живописной Венецианской гавани, дополняя полностью вашу прогулку, не забудьте посетить Фарос.

— Побывайте и в Археологическом Музее города Ханья, который находится при соборе Святого Франциска, и наМуниципальном Рынке, который был построен по примеру рынка в Массалии, и в Муниципальном Парке, где вам будет показана, практически, вся фауна Крита.

— В Топхана вы можете посетить церковь Сан-Сальваторе, где собраны коллекции византийской и поствизантийской культуры в Ханье.
— Пройдясь вниз по улицам города, вы попадёте на Площадь Элевтериоса Венизелоса, где находится дом известного политического деятеля, одноимённый Национальный Фонд, дворец принца Георгия и Русская Церковь Святой Магдалены. «Княжая церковь» Святой Магдалены была построена главным комиссионером острова Крита принцем Георгием в 1901 году, когда он привёз сюда 10.000 рублей для воздвижения церкви в честь Марии Магдалены, которая побывала у его сестры Марии в Ханье, которая была женой русского князя Георгия

— Вы найдёте здесь узкие улочки, которые называются стиванадика, проходящие по главной улице Скридлоф. Улочки всегда заполнены народом и пройти здесь, практически, нереально, потому как здесь очень много маленьких магазинчиков, где продают изделия из кожи (стиванья – высокие сапоги из ложной кожи, которые носят жители острова Крита).

— В районе «Махерадика», расположенном вдоль дороги Сифакис, по сей день работаю профессиональные мастера по отделке металла, изготовляя традиционные критские ножи.
-Если у вас есть автомобиль, отправляйтесь в Акотири, где находятся могилы Венизелос – это одно из самых красивых мест в Ханья с великолепным панорамным видом на остров.

Горы и каньоны

 Город Ханья разделена на две части Белыми Горами. Одна из частей является побережьем и густонаселенна, одна из самых посещаемых на острове Крит.

В Ханья находятся самые большие ущелья во всей Европе, а именно в районе под названием Самария.

Около 300.000 любителей посещают каждый год эти великолепные ландшафты, осматривают пейзажи острова  с редкими  горными породами и уникальной флорой и фауной. Ущелье Самарии берёт своё начало на плато Омалос (16 км длиной и от 3 до 300 метров шириной). Путешествие по ущелье, которое длится около 4-5 часов, разрешается только с мая по сентябрь.

Сочетание морских пещер и районов с великолепными горными ландшафтами показывают нам все краски, которые природа хотела показать «играя» на острове. Наиболее впечатляют такие районы, как Апокоронас, Святой Иоаннис иАркудоспилиос, которые уютно расположились недалеко к Мони Гувернетос. Советуем вам посетить зелёные оазисы на склоне Белых Гор, где небольшие  милые домики, построенные в традиционном стиле, приглашают вас очутиться в «деревенском» раю. Вы можете узнать больше об острове, если побываете в Керамиа, Вамос, Аскифос, Милья, Спилья.

Пляжи

На территории Ханья находятся пляжи, о которых вы могли только мечтать. Побережье простилается на 415 километроввдоль моря. Пляжи отлично организованы, а отели расположены очень близко.

-Пляж Агиа Марина – сочетание наслаждения от плавания с развлечениями. Здесь вы сможете выпить чашечку кофе в баре на пляже, попробовать сразиться с водной стихией, ведь пляж Агиа Марина — идеален для сёрфинга и главный пляж острова. Кристально чистая вода, небольшие волны, тёплый ветерок  днём, а вечером – модные ночные клубы.Недалеко от пляжа Агиа Марина расположен пляж Марафи и Лутраки с барами и тавернами на любой вкус.

— Пляж Платаниас, расположен в районе Малеме и известен своими бирюзовыми водами и отлично подходит для дайвинга. Это идеальное место для тех, кто хочет отдохнуть в тишине и позагорать.

— Красивый пляж Фаласарна известен своим экзотическим видом и Пляжной Вечеринкой, которая проводится здесь каждую первую неделю Августа. Расположен в 60 км от города Ханья. Вы сможете достигнуть пляжа, совершив путешествие через магический Киссамос.

Остров Грамвуса и остров Валос, в северо-западной части Ханья, вы сможете достигнуть на лодке из Киссамос. Лагуна острова Валос очарует вас своими кристально чистыми зелёными водами. Идеальное место для дайвинга вы найдёте под мысом, где красно-золотой песок в сочетании с кристальной водой, создаёт умопомрачительную картину. Плажи, которые расположена на этих островах являются экологически чистыми и самыми тихими.

Пляж Элафоноси расположен в 80 км от города Ханья – это экзотический пляж с белоснежной галькой и кристальной водой на мелководье. Посетив этот замечательный пляж не поленитесь пройти пешком до следующего пляжаКедрозасос, который покорит ваше сердце своей красотой.

 

Country Greece
Hermes Отель

Hermes Отель

, [:en] Chania [:ru]Ханья
  Описание Hermes Отель расположен в красивом и живописном городе Киссамос, к западу от города More info
Топ Отель

Топ Отель

, [:en] Chania [:ru]Ханья
Описание «Лучшее направление для отдыха» «Топ Отель» приглашает вас на красивый остров Крит и в кос More info

Unfortunately there are no self-catering offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no tour offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no cruise offers at this location at the moment.

Unfortunately there are no car rental offers at this location at the moment.