Room facilities:Air Condition, Bar, Gym, Mini bar, Restaurant, Room service, Telephone, TV
The hotel’s location has considerable advantages to provide to the modern traveler; a captivating view of the imperious rocks of Meteora and of the vast plain of Thessaly, spreading below like a fossilized ancient sea. Enjoy this endless view simply from your room’s balcony!
It only takes a ramble through the “stone forest” of Meteora to discover medieval Greece and the monasteries and churches of the area. Climb up the tops of the rocks and admire these gigantic rocks that extend from the ground and reach the sky, as if carved by the titans’ very own hands, only to leave all visitors in awe. As daylight slowly fades and night wears on, a magical twilight with breathtaking colours turns the sky and the rocks into impressionistic scenery. The rocks are veiled in mystery as the artificial, dim night light is shed upon them, producing a sensation difficult to forget.
– 24 reception
– Non-Smoking area
– Rooms / Facilities for disabled people
– Safety Deposit Box,
– Luggage Storage,
– Hair dryer,
– Snack Bar
– Wired / Wireless Internet (available in the business centre and charges)
– Free private parking
Activities and Excursions
– Visit the imposing monasteries of Meteora
– Walking among the world rocks of Meteora
– Visit the old town Kalambaka with its famous Byzantine church of 11 century.
– Tours to the cave Theopetra , bridge Sarakina, mountains Pindos and Agrafa and visit new destinations like Lake Plastira, Elati, Pertouli, Aspropotamos (White river) and Metsovo.
– Ioannina airport 170 km
– Athens: 400km.
– Thessaloniki: 250km.
– Port of Igoumenitsa, 246 km
– Elati: 35km.
– Meteora: 1km.
-Lake Plastira: 45 km
- Air Condition
The Meteora is one of the largest and most important complexes of Eastern Orthodox monasteries in Greece, second only to Mount Athos. The six monasteries are built on natural sandstone rock pillars, at the north-western edge of the Plain of Thessaly near the Pineios River and Pindus Mountains, in central Greece. The nearest town is Kalambaka. The Meteora is included on the UNESCO World Heritage List.
All of these monasteries are located at Meteora in Greece, and most are perched on high cliffs and accessible by staircases cut into the rock formations. They were created to serve monks and nuns following the teachings of the Greek Orthodox Church. Much of the architecture of these buildings is Athonite in origin. Of the six intact monasteries, the Holy Monastery of St. Stephen and Monastery Roussanou are inhabited by nuns
The Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron
This is the largest of the monasteries located at Metéora. It was erected in the mid-14th century AD and was the subject of restoration and embellishment projects in 1483 and 1552. The building serves as the main museum for tourists.The Katholikon (main church), consecrated in honour of the Transfiguration of Jesus was erected in the middle of 14th c. and 1387/88 and decorated in 1483 and 1552.
- The Holy Monastery of Rousanou/St. Barbarawas founded in the middle of 16th century AD and decorated in 1560.
- The Holy Monastery of St. Nicholas Anapausas, built in the 16th century AD, is a small church. It was decorated by the Cretan painter Theophanis Strelitzas, in 1527.
- The Holy Monastery of St. Stephenis a small church built in the 16th century and decorated in 1545. This monastery rests on the plain rather than on a cliff. It was damaged by the Nazis during WWII who believed it was harboring insurgents and was abandoned. Nuns took it over and reconstructed it.
- The Holy Monastery of Varlaam– The Holy Monastery of Varlaam is the second largest monastery in the Metéora complex. It was built in 1541 and embellished in 1548. A church, dedicated to All Saints, is in the Athonite type (cross-in-square with dome and choirs), with spacious esonarthex (lite) is surrounded by a dome. It was built in 1541/42 and decorated in 1548, while the esonarthex was decorated in 1566. The old refectory is used as a museum while north of the church is the parekklesion of the Three Bishops, built in 1627 and decorated in 1637
- The Monastery of the Holy Trinityis on top of the cliffs. It was built in 1475 and was remodeled many times in 1684, 1689, 1692, 1741